Modify a time card for a project

You can modify a time card as long as the payroll check or direct deposit for the time card hasn't been posted. If you need to modify a time card after a payroll check or direct deposit has been posted, use the Void Payroll Checks and Advices screen to void the payroll transaction. If you need to adjust direct deposit distributions, additional pay, before- or after-tax deductions, fringe benefits, and taxes, use the Adjust Payroll Checks and Advices screen to enter an adjusted payroll transaction.

  1. Open the Enter Time Card by Project screen.
  2. Note the active distribution company. If you want to change it, click in the header and select the appropriate company.
  3. In the Posting Group field, do one of the following:
    • Enter the code of the posting group associated with the payroll cycle for the time card.

    • Click to select the posting group associated with the payroll cycle for the time card from a Lookup List.

    • If you have already entered a time card, use the default of the previous posting group.

  4. In the Project field, do one of the following:
    • Enter the code of the project for the time card and press Tab.

    • Click to select the project for the time card from a Lookup List.

    • Tip: You can set this field to default to the most recently used project. See the Remember Last Project field on the Users screen or User Groups screen for details.
      Note: If the selected project is a certified payroll project, the text "Certified Payroll Project" appears to the right of the project selection.
  5. Complete the fields as described on the Enter Time Card by Project Screen Field Reference.
  6. Click Save Time Card.
    Note: If the selected posting group contains at least one check that has been printed correctly and has a status of Ready to Post, the time card is not saved.
    Note: If the save takes more than a few moments, ProContractor may perform it as a background task. In this case, the background task icon appears at the upper right of the screen (next to the Help menu). Click the icon to view the current background tasks. You can continue working during this time, but you can’t log out of ProContractor until all background tasks are complete.