Layer Manager screen

Use the Layer Manager screen to manage the layers in a job. You can add and delete layers, rename layers, and select different layers to be the proposed and existing layers.

You can create alternate proposed layers or to calculate volumes of cut or fill moved during a phase of a job. This enables you to compare elevations between any two layers to calculate cut and fill quantities.

For example, you could create a new layer that contains all the elevations you entered for the original proposed layer, then lower the proposed elevations in this new layer to match the elevation change recommended when you balanced the site. This would enable you to quickly calculate the cut and fill quantities using either the original proposed elevations or the proposed elevations that have been lowered to balance the site.

You can also use this feature with TDS files generated from data collectors. After winning a bid and starting a project, you could periodically survey the job site to gather the current elevations of the site to calculate the amount of work you have completed for the job. To do this, you would create a new layer in the job and import the new TDS file you created from the survey of the site, then compare it to the original existing or proposed layer. This would show you how much earth you have moved so far or how much earth you still need to move, depending on which layer you compare it to. See Compare an Imported Layer to the Current Site for more details.

Once you create an additional layer using the Layer Manager, you must select it as either the existing layer or the proposed layer to be able to use it in the Manage Earthwork Estimates screen. After you create the layer and select it as either the existing or proposed layer, you digitize or import elevations and areas as normal.

Even though you enter a name for the new layer, the layer name of the new layer will only appear in the Layer Manager and in the status bar at the bottom of the screen. The Active Layer field on the toolbar will always list Existing and Proposed as the two layers you can use to digitize elevations and areas.

CAUTION: You cannot undo the deletion of a layer. All the elevations and areas you have digitized on that layer are also deleted when you delete a layer.