A/P Transaction Update

When the report is complete, the software automatically proceeds to the update screen. After the A/P Transaction Register has printed correctly and is accurate, click Continue to run the update.

  • When the update is run, it sorts information by G/L code first, then by job so that you can see both the G/L totals and then subtotals by job on one report.

  • If you choose to sort the report by Time of entry, the report will sort by G/L date and time of entry.

  • Running the update will post information to the General Ledger, Equipment Control, Work Order and Job Cost files. This information may not be changed after the update.

  • If you cancel out of the A/P Transaction Report/Update screen before completing the update, the changes made in the G/L Error Correction screen will not be saved to the A/P G/L distribution history file. The A/P Transaction Update will add one record to the Work Order Cost History table for each invoice distribution line associated with work order # and Direct Work Order Cost G/L account.

  • If the G/L account is set to 'Direct equipment cost', the Equipment code and Cost category code will be updated from the invoice distribution line.
    Note: If the A/P Transaction Register is out of balance, updating will not be allowed. Once the transaction report prints correctly, this update should be run, even if the General Ledger module is not on your system. "Balanced entry" protection is incorporated into this function to assure the General Ledger will stay in balance. Consult Viewpoint Support for instructions if it is necessary to correct an out-of-balance error.

When a purchase order is received and then the A/P invoice is posted for a Time + Material job, the vendor name and item description is recorded in the Time + Material module. The Time + Material Installation screen provides an A/P post vendor name or item code check box. For operations selecting Vendor, the invoice update writes the vendor name to Time + Material module. If option item is selected, the item code and item description will post to Time + Material module, instead of the vendor code and item description. For stock items originating from Purchase Order, the price updated to Time + Material is determined based on the material level field in the Time + Material Job Billing Maintenance. If the field is blank, cost is updated. If level 1-5 is specified, the associated price from Item Master File Maintenance is used. Any associated markups are calculated based on the same figure.

If this is a sub-job billed from a master job, the software will read for job-specific setup rates for the master job, and if none are found use standard settings. If this is a sub-job billed at the sub-job level, the software will read for job-specific setup rates for the sub-job first, and if billing rates are not found then the master job, and if none are found there use standard settings.

Note Regarding A/P Transaction Update Validation: Spectrum validates the transaction details during this report/update's compilation process. For the date portion of the validation, Spectrum compares the current Accounts Payable minimum/maximum date range with the invoice date. Spectrum also confirms that the G/L account code is valid and available for use. If an error is found during the compilation, the following message displays on the last screen of the report: "G/L account errors have been encountered. All errors must be corrected before proceeding." Additionally, a message displays directly below the detail line (in the Detail transaction register and Transaction register formats), indicating the specific problem. If Spectrum discovers an error, the G/L Error Correction screen automatically displays, allowing you to enter the necessary changes. Once you close the G/L Error Correction screen, Spectrum will recompile the data and apply the corrections; the report will reprint automatically. During the update, the software runs through one update that posts to both the module's master and history files and to the General Ledger. Error correction entries are not saved by the software if you cancel before the updated confirmation takes place. If you correct all errors and complete the update, the changes will be reflected in the General Ledger log file and the Accounts Payable history report.