Define Estimate Globals

Use the Define button to access the Estimate Globals, which allow you to define defaults for the current estimate. You can set:
  • WBS and UBS code column headings and values
  • Export codes
  • Other names
  • Calculator parameters
  • Markups
  • Rounding options

The estimate global values you can set are identical to those you can set for the catalog global values. You can use the same values for both your catalog and your estimate, or you can use completely different global values for each.

To keep things as simple as possible, it is recommended that you use the same values in your estimate as you do in your catalog. You can use the Estimating Explorer to copy these global values between estimates and catalogs using the Globals feature. See Copy Globals Using the Estimating Explorer for more information.

You can combine up to four WBS codes into a single WBS code to use as the project billing format when you create a project from an estimate using the Enter Project Manager Worksheet or export the estimate to a separate accounting package.

To open a job in the Manage Estimates screen, go to Estimating > Estimating > Manage Estimates. Select the job you want to open, and then select OK.
Tip:
  • Multiple users can work on the same job in the Estimating tab at the same time. The last person to perform an edit function to an estimate item will have the data retained.
  • Any sorts a user performs are temporary unless the job is set to Exclusive mode, which allows you to save sorts. Moving items also requires the job to be set to exclusive, or the move will be temporary.
  • To turn Exclusive mode on, get all other users to close the job, then select Set Job Exclusive. Make the changes to the estimate, then turn Exclusive mode off by selecting Set Job Exclusive again.
  • Locking a job turns on Exclusive mode, prevents other users from editing the job, but does allow them to view it. To lock a job, get all other users to close the job, then select Lock Job. To unlock the job, select Lock Job again.
  • Any filters performed in the Estimate tab are seen only by the user performing the filter.
  • You can see changes occur in real-time by changing tabs in the Manage Estimates screen or by refreshing the Estimate tab.