Manage Cost Items in an Estimate
You can edit the details of a cost item in the estimate in two different ways. You can make changes to cost items by selecting the cells you want to edit and making the changes directly, or you can open the details of the cost item to make the changes on the Cost Item popup window.
You must open the Cost Item popup window to edit some details of a cost item, such as the Reference. See Cost Items for details about how to edit specific cost item types.
Any changes you make to the cost item will only be saved in the estimate and won't be saved to the catalog. Each cost item in the estimate is a unique item. Also, if you change the details of a cost item that has another copy of the cost item in the estimate, only the details of the cost item you change are changed. The duplicate item retains the original details.
To open a job in the Manage Estimates screen, click OK.in the All Tasks pane. Then select the job you want to open, and click
- Multiple users can work on the same job in the Estimating tab at the same time. The last person to perform an edit function to an estimate item will have the data retained.
- Any sorts a user performs are temporary unless the job is set to Exclusive mode, which allows you to save sorts. Moving items also requires the job to be set to exclusive, or the move will be temporary.
- To turn Exclusive mode on, get all other users to close the job, then click Set Job Exclusive. Make the changes to the estimate, then turn Exclusive mode off by clicking Set Job Exclusive again.
- You can also lock a job, which not only turns on Exclusive mode, it prevents other users from editing the job. Note that all users can view a locked job. To lock a job, get all other users to close the job, then click Lock Job. To unlock a job, click Lock Job again.
- Any filters performed in the Estimate tab are only seen by the user performing the filter.
- You will see changes occur in real-time by changing tabs in the Manage Estimates screen or by refreshing the Estimate tab.