Configure Mobile Data Security

Assign data security to limit the jobs and equipment that your users see in the Field Management Mobile application.

You must be a System Admin to configure this feature.

  1. Select Admin > Portal Settings > Field Management Mobile > Mobile Data Security.
  2. In Jobs to Include in FM Mobile Data Security page, enter a number (1, 2, or 3) to indicate the kinds of jobs to show on the Data Security page:
    • 1 = Open jobs only
    • 2 = Open and soft-closed jobs
    • 3 = Open, soft, and hard-closed jobs
  3. Select Admin > Data Security to assign users or employee groups to jobs on the Data Security page. Both System and Security Admins have access to this page.
    1. Select the Data Type (Job or Equipment). You can also use the Company and/or Category filters to limit the items shown in the list.
    2. Select the check box for each Job or Equipment Category that you would like to assign, and then select either Add Group(s) to add Employee Groups or Add Employee(s) to add individual employees to those Jobs or Equipment Categories.
      Note: You can use the search filter to help you find and select multiple Jobs or Equipment Categories.
    3. To view the list of employee or employee group assignments for a Job or Equipment Category, select Edit for that item in the list.
      The Permission Detail page opens. From this page, you can do the following:
      • Add Group(s): Add Employee Groups.
      • Add Employee(s): Add employees one at a time.
      • View Effective Permissions: View all assigned users.
      • Clear Assignments remove assigned groups or employees (or select the Remove button for the individual assignment).
    For more details on the fields available on the Data Security page, see Data Security Fields.
  4. Select Admin > Portal Settings > Field Management Mobile > Mobile Data Security.
  5. In Mobile Data Security Mode, enter a number (1, 2, or 3) to indicate the level of data security to apply to the Field Management Mobile application.
    • 0 = Off. Logged-in users can see all Jobs and Equipment in Field Management Mobile.
    • 1 = On, Fail open. Those assigned to a Job or Equipment on the Mobile Data Security page will see only those jobs or that equipment.
      • Logged-in users who are not assigned a Job will see all jobs.
      • Logged-in users who are not assigned an Equipment Category will see all equipment.
    • 2 = On, Fail closed. Those assigned to a Job or an Equipment on the Mobile Data Security page will see only those jobs or that equipment.
      • Logged-in users who are not assigned a Job will not see any jobs.
      • Logged-in users who are not assigned an Equipment Category will not see any equipment.

    Data security changes take effect in Field Management Mobile the next time the user syncs the app.