Deactivate, Reactivate, or Delete Locations or Assets

If you no longer need your mobile device users to see or track a location or asset (referred to as 'elements'), you can deactivate them to hide them from view in the mobile app. If necessary, you can go back and reactivate the element.

To watch a brief video about locations, see Locations - Video.and any child

You can deactivate, reactivate, or delete a single element or multiple elements at once.
Note: Viewpoint recommends that you deactivate elements you no longer want to track instead of deleting them. This is because you can reactivate (unhide) a deactivated (hidden) element, whereas you cannot recover a deleted element.
When you deactivate a parent element, each of its children is also deactivated.

Steps 3 - 6 are to deactivate or reactivate elements.

Steps 7 and 8 are to delete elements.

  1. Go to Drawings in new web by clicking User menu > Project Setup > Drawing Calibration.
  2. Confirm you're working in the correct project.
  3. To deactivate a single element:
    1. In the Locations pane, click the ellipses for the element you want to deactivate.
    2. Select the Deactivate button in the toolbar.
      A confirmation message appears.
    3. Click Continue.
      The element and any children are deactivated.
  4. To reactivate a single element:
    1. Make sure that deactivated elements are showing. If you see Show in the toolbar, click it.
      All deactivated elements in the tree appear in grey, and Show turns to Hide.
    2. In the Locations pane, click the ellipses for the element you want to reactivate.
    3. Select the Activate button in the toolbar.
      A confirmation message appears.
    4. Click Continue.
      The element and any children are reactivated.
  5. To deactivate multiple elements:
    1. In the Locations pane, select the check box for all elements you want to deactivate.
    2. Click the Off button in the toolbar.
      A message appears asking for confirmation.
    3. Click Continue.
      The selected elements and any children are deactivated.
  6. To reactivate multiple elements:
    1. Make sure that deactivated elements are showing. If you see Show in the toolbar, click it.
      All deactivated elements in the tree appear in grey, and Show turns to Hide.
    2. In the Locations pane, select the check box for each elements you want to reactivate.
    3. Click the On button in the toolbar.
      A confirmation message appears.
    4. Click Continue.
      The selected elements and any children are reactivated.
  7. To delete a single element:
    1. In the Locations pane, click the ellipses for the element you want to delete.
    2. Select Delete.
      A confirmation message appears.
    3. Click Continue.
      The element and any children are deleted.
  8. To delete multiple elements:
    1. In the Locations pane, select the check box for all elements you want to delete.
    2. Click the Delete button in the toolbar.
      A message appears asking for confirmation.
    3. Click Continue.
      The selected elements and any children are deleted.
Mobile device users can see active elements in the mobile app, while deactivated elements are hidden from their view.