Folder Access and Security
Folder security allows you to control which project contacts can access the folders in a project.
A folder can be made public to share all its contents, and to make all its sub-folders and their contents available to all contacts on the project. Public folders are indicated with an icon . Sub-folders have the same public/private setting as their parent folder.
If a folder is private, you can select the project contacts who have access to it. Private folders are indicated with an icon . When you give a contact access to a folder, they can access the folder and all its contents, including sub-folders. If the folder has parent folders, the contact can see the parent folders; however, they cannot see any of the contents unless they have been given access to the parent folders.
By default, contacts assigned the Project Editor role can access all folders in a project. You cannot prevent a project editor from accessing a folder on a project. Contacts assigned the Collaborator or Project Reviewer role cannot access any folder on a project. You must give a collaborator or project reviewer access to each folder in the project they need to access.
What a contact can do within a folder is controlled by their role. You can remove a contact's access to a folder at any time.
If you move a folder, the folder inherits the public/private setting from its new parent folder. If the folder is private, all contacts who have direct access to the folder still have access to the folder. Any contacts, who have access to the new parent folder, now have access the moved folder. Any contacts, who had access to the folder because it was inherited from the parent folder, will no longer be able to access the folder, unless they have access to the new parent folder.