About the GL Batch Process Form
Use the GL Batch Process form to process General Ledger batches.
You can access the GL Batch Process form from the main menu or by selectingin any of the posting programs in GL (GL Auto Journal Entry, GL Auto Reversal Entry, and GL Journal Transaction Entry).
Once you specify the month and batch to process, the Info section displays information about the batch (i.e. creator, creation date, source, and status).
The next step in batch processing is to validate the information in the batch.
This is done by clicking on the Validate button. The program runs through all the data in the batch and creates Audit Reports that you can preview and/or print before you proceed with posting the batch. It is recommended that you print the audit lists before posting a batch, because once the batch is posted, the audit lists are no longer available.
Batch List — Prints the GL Journal Entries Audit List, GL Auto Entry Batch Audit List, or GL Reversal Batch Audit List, depending on the batch you are processing. Shows related information for each entry in the batch.
GL Account Distribution — Prints the GL Journal Entries Distribution List, GL Auto Entry Distribution List, or GL Reversal Entries Distribution List, depending on the batch you are processing. Shows distribution information from the batch sorted by account.
Error List — Lists the sequence number and the error message for any entries where errors were found in the validation process. Errors must be corrected before the batch can be posted.
Once the batch is ready for processing, enter the posting date and click the Post button at the bottom of the screen.
Clearing the Batch
When you create a batch, the system adds the data to a batch table and stores it until you are ready to post the batch.
Data is not updated online; therefore, you can delete it completely without affecting any modules, including the module in which you created the batch. To clear a batch table of stored data, select ‘Clear Batch’ from the File menu. The system will clear/delete all data from the batch. (Note: Previously posted transactions added to the batch are only cleared from the batch—they are not deleted.)
The Clear Batch option is disabled if the batch’s status is 4 (Posting in Progress). This is to prevent partially updated batches from being deleted should the update process be interrupted (i.e. power outage, system failure, etc.). When a batch update is interrupted, only a portion of the intended updates may occur. If a user later clears the batch, there is no way to determine the updated data.