PR Batch Process Form
This form can be accessed from the main menu or by selecting the Process Batch option from the File menu of any of the posting programs in PR (PR Auto Leave Accrual/Usage, PR Auto Overtime, PR Leave Entry, PR Post Auto Earnings, PR Salary Distribution, and PR Timecard Entry).
Once you have specified the month and batch to process, the Info section of the screen displays the batch’s creator and creation date, the batch source, and the batch’s status, which is typically “open.”
- Audit Reports - The next step in batch processing is to validate the information in the batch. Click on the Validate button. The program runs through all the data in the batch, creates Audit Reports (Batch List and Error List) that you can preview and/or print before you proceed with posting the batch. It is recommended that you print the audit lists before posting a batch; once the batch is posted, the audit lists are no longer available.
- Batch List – Prints the audit list, depending on the batch you are processing. Shows related information for each entry in the batch, in sequence order, with totals by batch sequence and batch.
- Error List – Lists the sequence number and the error message for any entries where orders were found in the validation process. You must correct the errors before you can post the batch. Users who have access to batch processing forms do not automatically have access to the related audit reports. It is recommended that if they will be processing batches, you give them access to the related audit reports using VA Report Security. If users do not have access, they will receive an error message when trying to preview/print those reports to which they do not have access. In addition, if using the ‘Attach Batch Report to HQ Batch Control’ feature (assigned in PR Company Parameters), restricted access to one or more audit reports will prevent the user from posting the batch. Once the batch is ready for processing, enter the posting date and click the Post button at the bottom of the screen.
- Clearing the Batch - When you create a batch, the system
adds the data to a batch table and stores it until you
are ready to post the batch. Data is not updated
online; therefore, you can delete it completely without
affecting any modules, including the module in which
you created the batch. To clear a batch table of stored
data, select ‘Clear Batch’ from the File menu. The
system will clear/delete all data from the batch.
(Note: Previously posted transactions added to the
batch are only cleared from the batch—they are not
deleted.)Note: The system creates an audit record each time you clear a batch. For information about cleared batches (i.e. user who cleared batch, as well as the date and time the batch was cleared), use the VA 'Other Events' Statistics report.Note: The Clear Batch option is disabled if the batch’s status is 4 (Posting in Progress). This is to prevent partially updated batches from being deleted should the update process be interrupted (i.e. power outage, system failure, etc.). When a batch update is interrupted, only a portion of the intended updates may occur. If a user later clears the batch, there is no way to determine the updated data.