About Clearing the Batch
When you create a batch, the system adds the data to a batch table and stores it until you are ready to post the batch.
Data is not updated online; therefore, you can delete it completely without affecting any modules, including the module in which you created the batch. To clear a batch table of stored data, select ‘Clear Batch’ from the File menu. The system will clear/delete all data from the batch.
Previously posted transactions added to the batch are only cleared from the batch—they are not deleted.
The system creates an audit record each time you clear a batch. For information about cleared batches (i.e. user who cleared batch, as well as the date and time the batch was cleared), use the VA 'Other Events' Statistics report.
The Clear Batch option is disabled if the batch’s status is 4 (Posting in Progress). This is to prevent partially updated batches from being deleted should the update process be interrupted (i.e. power outage, system failure, etc.). When a batch update is interrupted, only a portion of the intended updates may occur. If a user later clears the batch, there is no way to determine the updated data.